Personal Watercraft Safety Responsibilities



Published:

Personal watercraft, also known as jet skis and wave runners, are fun but they are not toys. North Carolina has established regulations for ownership and operation of personal watercraft, which are enforced by N.C. Wildlife Resources Commission officers.

State law restricts anyone younger than 16 from operating a personal watercraft unless:
· They are at least 14 years old and riding with a person who is at least 18.
· They are at least 14 years old and have successfully completed an approved boating safety education course, and have proof of age and safety course completion with them while operating the personal watercraft.

It is also against the law to knowingly let anyone under 16 operate a personal watercraft who doesn’t meet the above qualifications. For personal watercraft regulations and additional safety advice click here.

Reckless operation, lack of proper safety equipment and exceeding capacity are frequent violations for personal watercraft operators,” said Capt. Chris Huebner, boating safety coordinator for the Wildlife Resources Commission. “It is really important that operators know how their vessel works and the regulations that apply. We recommend the Commission-sponsored Boating Education Course or similar National Association of State Boating Law Administrators approved courses to anyone interested in recreational boating.

”Vessel registration and titling requirements also apply to personal watercraft. Anyone who purchases or transfers a vessel or personal watercraft is required to register the vessel.

Vessel transactions may be performed by mail, with one of the more than 400 Wildlife Service Agents statewide or by visiting the N.C. Wildlife Resources Commission Administrative Headquarters in Raleigh. For more information, call 1-800-628-3773. clearpixel.gif clearpixel.gif
Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

Related Content

Kid-Friendly Music Festivals in the Carolinas

Regional music festivals offer fun for the whole family.

Must-See Holiday Light Shows Across North Carolina

’Tis the season for dazzling light displays. Here are our top picks of holiday light show extravaganzas across the state.

Applying to NC Colleges? Take an Inside Look at 16 NC Public Schools

These profiles detail everything from student-to-faculty ratios to acceptance rates and the percentage of students who successfully graduate in four years.
Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit Module Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit Module

Newsletter Sign-Up

Stay connected to what's going on for kids and families in the Triad by signing up for our FREE e-newsletters!

Subscribe

Edit ModuleShow TagsEdit ModuleShow Tags Edit ModuleShow Tags

Annual Guides

Education Guide

The all-new 2015-2016 Education Guide is packed with everything parents need to know to navigate more than 500 education options and resources in the Triad, including area preschools, private schools, public school systems, charter schools, boarding schools and academic resources.

GPS [Go. Play. See]

It's your complete family guide to Triad living. Parents are busy and on the go. Use this guide to help you explore all this great area offers for families in Winston-Salem, Greensboro, High Point and surrounding communities.

Exceptional Child

For parents of kids with special needs, finding help and support can be challenging. We've compiled valuable resources for Triad parents in our latest annual publication, Exceptional Child, which is also available as a digital guide.